Friday, November 30, 2012

PODCAST: November 30th, 2012

[STREAM this episode (on Mixcloud)]
(or scroll to the bottom to stream it here)

Having returned from my travels with a huge pile of new music to play, this episode is filled to the brim with over a dozen fresh dark entries, as well as a selection of classics, a few requests, updates on current tours, current sounds, and the latest news. Here's what to expect...

The show formally begins with a selection from An Instructional Guide for Aspiring Arsonists, the latest album from The Deadfly Ensemble, which once again features the talents of Lucas Lanthier (Cinema Strange), as well as Marzia Rangel from Christ vs. Warhol, just to name two. Having signed to Projekt Records for this release, Stateside fans should find it easier to come by in record stores. If not, it can be ordered here.

Proving yet again to be among the most prolific of artists, ROME have returned with not only a new EP (Fester), but a whole new album in the form of Hell Money. Needless to say, it's wonderful, but don't just take my word for it. Listen to one of my favorites on this podcast to feel it yourself, then order it here.

On the verge of hitting the road with Velvet Acid Christ (who also have a new song on this episode), The Twilight Garden returns, this time on Metropolis Records, with the title track from their new album Hope, cementing their ethereal take on the darkwave/post-punk style.

Also returning on this episode: Germany's Aeon Sable, with an upbeat post-punk/goth preview of their forthcoming Saturn Return album; Killing Joke, with a Jaz-in-your-face selection from their latest, MMXII; and Ludovico Technique, with the song for which they've just released an official video. Check it out here:

Also listen for a pair of premieres from: NOIR, a new darkwave/electronic project from Athan Maroulis (Black Tape for a Blue Girl, Spahn Ranch), whose new single is entitled My Dear; as well as some requested new post-punk sounds from the Bay Area's The Soft Moon, taken from their latest release, Zeros.

In the dark metal portion of the show, you'll hear a brand new track from Portland's Atriarch, whose new album Ritual of Passing has just come out on Canada's Profound Lore Records. If the idea of taking deathrock influences into apocalyptic doom excites you as it does me, you can pick that album up here. Meanwhile, Idaho's Wolvserpent, who have just inked a deal with Relapse Records, have elected to publicly release the initial demos for their forthcoming Perigaea album, so that fans can witness the progression of the material. Listen for a taste of it at the close of this show, and grab your copy of those demos here. And, as a bonus, you can watch their video preview below:

You will hear all of that on this episode, plus: A collection of recently gathered cult vampire film themes, a bit of melancholy-yet-responsible nostalgia, otherwise forgotten gems, and even more current & classic music to suck the light out of your surroundings.

Ready to hear the show? Here's how:

Click the photo to save the file
for your portable device.

[STREAM this episode (on Mixcloud)]
(or scroll down to stream it here)



Format: Band Name - Song Title [Album Title, Year]
(each band name is also a website link)

"Out ov the Coffin" w/ Ichabod
Show date: Friday, November 30th, 2012

Opening Theme:
Elliot Goldenthal - Libera Me [from "Interview with the Vampire" (soundtrack), 1994]

The Deadfly Ensemble - The Early Years of Dr. Lindsay  [An Instructional Guide for Aspiring Arsonists, 2012]
Goblin - Non Ho Sonno  ["Non Ho Sonno/Sleepless" (soundtrack) 2002]
Diamanda Galas - Gloomy Sunday  [Malediction and Prayer, 1998]  ^RQ^
Soap & Skin - Marche Funebre  [Lovetune for Vacuum, 2009]  ^RQ^
The Legendary Pink Dots - Zero Zero  [Shadow Weaver, 1992]
ROME - The Silver Coil  [Hell Money, 2012]
Black Ice - Farewell Prize  [Before the First Light, 2010]
The Twilight Garden - Hope  [Hope, 2012]
John Ottman - Mirror, Mirror (exc.)  ["Snow White: A Tale of Terror" (soundtrack) 1997]
Concrete Blonde - Tomorrow, Wendy  [Bloodletting, 1990]
Worm Ouroboros - Riverbed  [Worm Ouroboros, 2010]
Killing Joke - Glitch  [MMXII, 2012]
Leitmotiv - Architect  [Caress & Curse, 1983]
Aeon Sable - Dancefloor Satellite (radio edit)  [Saturn Return, 2012]
The Soft Moon - Insides  [Zeros, 2012]  ^RQ^
Front Line Assembly -  AirMech  ["AirMech" (soundtrack) 2012]
Depeche Mode - To Have and To Hold  [Music for the Masses, 1987]
Night Vision - At Arm's Length  [Night Vision, 2012]
NOIR - My Dear  [My Dear, 2012]
Velvet Acid Christ - Bend the Sky  [Maldire, 2012]
Ludovico Technique - Potential  [Some Things Are Beyond Therapy, 2012]
David Whitaker - Prologue (exc.)  ["Vampire Circus: The Essential Vampire Theme Collection" (comp.) 1993]
The Gault - Country Road, Six Miles In  [Even As All Before Us, 2005]
Aldebaran - Forever in the Dream of Death (exc.)  [Embracing the Lightless Depths, 2012]
Urfaust - Das Kind mit dem Spiegel [Der Freiwillige Bettler, 2010]
Atriarch - Altruist  [Ritual of Passing, 2012]
James Bernard - Loading the Coffins (exc.)  ["Nosferatu" (soundtrack) 1922]
Wolvserpent - V  [Perigaea demos, 2012]

[N] = Nashville artist
(exc.) = excerpt

^RQ^ = requested

Stream this episode right here:

No comments:

Post a Comment