Friday, May 10, 2013

PODCAST: May 10th, 2013

[STREAM this episode right now on Mixcloud]
(or use the embedded player at the bottom of this post)

For those waiting for a taste of the new Skinny Puppy album, the wait is over. The new single, "paragUn," is here, and you're about to check it out on this episode. While Weapon won't be released until May 28th, you can pre-order the limited edition Vinyl version here, and the CD version here.

If the promise of new Skinny Puppy isn't enough to bait your breath, you'll also hear a track from the brand new IAMX album, The Unified Field, on this episode. You can order that one here, and check out the brand new video for the single "I Come With Knives" right here.

Although it's almost a year away, the announcement of a US tour featuring the UK's Pretentious, Moi? is truly exciting news for fans of traditional goth/darkwave music. The tour will begin in March of 2014 at the Age of Decay festival in Florida, then move west towards California. Also on the tour is fellow UK act, The Last Cry, who make their debut on this episode. Their new album, Living in Grey, can be found here.

Fans of dark ambient, soundtracks, and instrumental experimentation have several new reasons to celebrate. Kalpamantra has released yet another free collection of quality dark ambient, in the form of the new Apogee compilation (get it here), from which you'll hear new music from Italy's Phantom Ship on this episode. Meanwhile, Heathen Harvest released the second installment in their Walpurgisnacht series, which you can find for free here. It features a new track from The Floating World, which you will hear towards the end of this show.

Not to be outdone, Bella Morte have released a free instrumental song designed as a theme/soundtrack for vocalist/writer Andy Deane's novel, The Sticks. You can find that free download here, on their Reverbnation page. Not enough free music yet? You'll also hear some music taken from the COP Records 22nd Anniversary Compilation, which was also designed as a free giveaway, featuring hours of EBM, Industrial, and Electro with which you may not yet be familiar. BAM!

In the heavier realm of the show, you'll hear brand new music from Philadelphia's Woe, whose new album Withdrawal just arrived on Candlelight Records. You'll also witness the second new track from Nashville's Alraune, whose just-released 2-track Demo Album Preview has been made available as a taste of things to come.

You'll hear all of that, PLUS:  The overdue debut of the drunken post-punk sounds of Group Hex; more overdue music from France's strangest new industrial export, Chrysalide; several curiosities from the vault; and a farewell to Slayer guitarist/songwriter, Jeff Hanneman, who passed away last week. This episode closes with one of my favorite songs, which Jeff wrote for their 1988 album, South of Heaven. Rest In Peace.

Ready to hear the show? Even have the show if you like? Here's how:

Click the photo to save this podcast
for your portable device.

[STREAM this episode (on Mixcloud)]
(or scroll down to stream it from this page)



Format: Band Name - Song Title [Album Title, Year]
(each band name is also a website link)

"Out ov the Coffin" w/ Ichabod
Show date: Friday, May 10th, 2013

Opening Theme:
Elliot Goldenthal - Libera Me [from "Interview with the Vampire" (soundtrack), 1994]

Current 93 w/ Nick Cave - All the Pretty Little Horses  [All the Pretty Little Horses, 1996]
Current 93 - All the Pretty Little Horsies  [All the Pretty Little Horses, 1996]
Phantom Ship - Incoming  ["Apogee" (comp.), 2013]
Zola Jesus - Manifest Destiny  [Stridulum, 2010]
Dead Can Dance - Amnesia  [Anastasis, 2012]
Swans - Power & Sacrifice  [White Light from the Mouth of Infinity, 1991]
Kiss the Anus of a Black Cat - Shake Off Your Dreams  [Weltuntergangsstimmung, 2012]
Siouxsie & the Banshees - Trophy  [Kaleidoscope, 1980]
Group Hex - These Are the Nights  [Group Hex EP, 2010]
Brian Tyler - Ultimate Manifestation (exc.)  ["John Dies at the End" (soundtrack) 2012]
The Last Cry - Through Her Eyes  [Living In Grey, 2012]
The March Violets - Essence  [Walk Into the Sun, 1984]
Spectres - Pattern Recognition  [Spectres/Arctic Flowers (split) 2010]
Pretentious, Moi? - The Garden  [Pretentious, Moi?, 2010]
Specimen - Hex  [Sharp Teeth, 1985]
IAMX - Sorrow  [The Unified Field, 2013]
Angelo Badalamenti - Owl Cave  ["Twin Peaks" (Season Two) 1991]
Skinny Puppy - ParagUn  [Weapon, 2013]
Chrysalide - Fucking Doubt / Let the Bombs Fall  [Don't Be Scared, It's About Life, 2011]
C-Drone-Defect - Morituri Salutant  ["COP International 22nd Anniversary" (comp.), 2013]
Belief - Pastlight  [No-Place, 2003]
Buck Tick - Gesshoku  [13kai wa Gekkou, 2005]
Bella Morte - Theme from "The Sticks" by Andy Deane  [digital single, 2013]
Atriarch - Oblivion  [Atriarch/Alaric (split), 2012]
Woe - All Bridges Burned  [Withdrawal, 2013]
Alraune [N] - Kissed By the Red  [2-track Demo Album Preview, 2013]
Cor Scorpii - El Fane Svart  [Monument, 2008]
The Floating World - Between the Sky and the Sea  ["Heathen Harvest: Walpurgisnacht I" (comp.) 2013]
Slayer - Spill the Blood  [South of Heaven, 1988]

[N] = Nashville artist
(exc.) = excerpt

^RQ^ = requested

Stream this episode right here:

No comments:

Post a Comment