Friday, July 12, 2013

PODCAST: July 12th, 2013

[STREAM this episode right now on Mixcloud]
(or use the embedded player at the bottom of this post)

This episode begins with a birthday nod to the Gothfather himself, Peter Murphy, who celebrated his 56th (if you can believe that) on the 11th. We then move into the pile of new music that has gathered since the last show, beginning with San Francisco's Lux Interna, whose latest expansion of dark americana/neo-folk, There is Light in the Body, There is Blood in the Sun, has just arrived on the Pesanta Urfolk label.

Meanwhile, in Virginia, Bella Morte has just released their first "Best Of" collection, courtesy of Metropolis Records (get it here). Unique to this collection is a brand new recording of one of their earliest compositions, "Evensong." This new version, which you'll hear on this episode, finds founding member Gopal Metro on bass, marking his first recording with the band since 2006's Bleed the Grey Sky Black. If that didn't make fans curious enough about his potential return to the fold, Gopal is set to play his first live show with the band in over 5 years on August 3rd. We'll see what the future holds...

In the industrial realm, you'll get a taste of the new Front Line Assembly album, Echogenetic, which seems to be dividing some fans over its use of dubstep sounds. I'll let you decide -- but before you figure that out, you'll be hit with another new track from Chiildren, taken from their The Other People album, which sees the band "fusing grim metal and droning electronics."

Speaking of grim metal, you'll hear two brand new atmospheric black metal releases from Sepulchral Recordings, both of which feature former members of Canada's Miserere Luminis. First up is Sombres Forêts, from their new album La Mort du Soleil, followed by a taste of the new Gris album, À l'Âme Enflammée, l'Äme Constellée… And, as if those aren't grim enough, you'll get another taste of Old Mornings Dawn, from Austria's legendary Tolkien-worshippers, Summoning.

In the dark ambient realm, you'll hear a premiere from Chile's Solifugae, taken from the oft-heard Kalpamantra collection, Apogee. And, closing the show this time, almost 14 minutes of brand new music from Finnish psychedelic folk-rock band, Hexvessel, taken from their new album Iron Marsh.

You'll hear all of that, PLUS: Deeper cuts from the latest Night SinsThe Bellwether Syndicate, The Twilight Garden, and Anasazi releases; Some post-birthday music from Fabio Frizzi that also coincides with a Nashville screening of the Fulci classic "Zombie;" Info about the upcoming tours from Die Sektor, Gary Numan, and The Cult; selections from the goth, post-punk, and deathrock vaults; and much more...

Ready to hear the show? Stream it or keep it? Here's how:

Click the photo to save this podcast
for your portable device.

[STREAM this episode (on Mixcloud)]
(scroll down to stream it from this page)



Format: Band Name - Song Title [Album Title, Year]
(each band name is also a website link)

"Out ov the Coffin" w/ Ichabod
Show date: Friday, July 12th, 2013

Opening Theme:
Elliot Goldenthal - Libera Me [from "Interview with the Vampire" (soundtrack), 1994]

Peter Murphy - The Prince and Old Lady Shade  [Ninth, 2011]
David Bowie - Crystal Japan  [Scary Monsters, 1980]
Lux Interna - Tongues  [There is Light in the Body, There is Blood in the Sun, 2013]
Ataraxia - Canzona  [Simphonia Sine Nomine, 1994]
Praise of Folly - Disillusioned  [Disillusioned, 1995]
Lycia - Nine Hours Later  [The Burning Circle and Then Dust, 1995]
The Twilight Garden - Fixation  [Hope, 2012]
Angels of Liberty - Monster In Me  [Monster In Me, 2011]
The Snake Corps - Seagull's Eye  [Smother Earth, 1990]
Solifugae - Hunger  [Apogee (comp.) 2013]
Death Cult - Gods Zoo  [Gods Zoo, 1983]
The Bellwether Syndicate - 101 Go  [The Night Watch EP, 2013]
Anåsazi - I Saw the Witch Cry  [I Saw the Witch Cry, 2012]
Bella Morte - Evensong (2012)  [The Best of Bella Morte, 2013]
Specimen - Hex  [Sharp Teeth, 1985]
Night Sins - Wild Eyes  [New Grave, 2012]
Radio Spot: "Zombie" (1979)
Fabio Frizzi - Main Title  ["Zombie" (soundtrack) 1979]
Haujobb - Lost  [New World March, 2011]
Die Sektor - In His Mercy, All Will Perish  [Applied Structure in a Void, 2011]
Gary Numan - The Fall  [Dead Son Rising, 2011]
Front Line Assembly - Ghosts  [Echogenetic, 2013]
Chiildren - Girl in the Dirt  [The Other People, 2012]
Treha Sektori - Vorah Esyeh Konteriah  [Endessiah, 2012]
Sombres Forêts - Étrangleurs de Soleils  [La Mort du Soleil, 2013]
Gris - Igneus  [À l'Âme Enflammée, l'Äme Constellée…, 2013]
Riz Ortolani - (untitled) ["Seven Deaths in the Cat's Eye" (soundtrack) 1973] 
Abigor - Eclipse My Heart, Crown Me King  [Supreme Immortal Art, 1998]
Summoning - The White Tower  [Old Mornings Dawn, 2013]
Philippe D'Aram - L’Interieur Des Ecuries  ["The B-Music Of Jean Rollin" ("Fascination," 1979)]
Hexvessel - Masks of the Universe  [Iron Marsh, 2013]

[N] = Nashville artist
(exc.) = excerpt

^RQ^ = requested

Stream this episode right here:

No comments:

Post a Comment