Friday, December 2, 2011

PODCAST: December 1st, 2011

[DOWNLOAD this episode (128k mp3)]

In musical terms, the greatest thing to happen this week has certainly been the arrival of ROME's new box set, Die Aesthetik der Herrschaftsfreiheit. With 36 tracks, spread over 3 full length albums, it's a lot of greatness to absorb at once, but it maintains the quality standards set by all of Jerome Reuter's many previous releases. All of ROME's different faces are represented on the new collection, and a couple of new paths are explored as well. Not one, but two, of the new tracks are featured on this episode.

For the big fans: If you are looking to buy the new ROME box set, there is a very limited fan-edition, which comes with all 3 of the new albums, 3 hardbound books, and what I will say is their best t-shirt yet, along with a couple of other bonus pieces, that you might attempt to order right here, while they last.

Also new on this episode is music from Press Gang Metropol. If you've ever wondered what became of the legendary French goth-rock band, Corpus Delicti, then wonder no more. After their original drummer retired, they elected to go on in a somewhat different direction, under a new name.

As mentioned previously, I'm really looking forward to hearing a full-length release from California's Hyena Motorcade. As if to briefly sate that appetite, the band released a new single this week, adding to their repertoire of post-punk/art-rock, with an atmosphere reminiscent of bands like The Psychedelic Furs and legends like Bowie and The Doors. Check out their new song, "Heartbreaks," on this episode.

This episode also digs deeper into the latest releases from Skinny Puppy, Brighter Fires, and Nosferatu, while offering an advance look at an album that won't see release until early next year, from Finland's Azaghal. Their forthcoming release, Nemesis, gets the spotlight at the end of this show, in the dark metal portion.

Also featured this time: Post-punk obscurities from across the ages, some bizarre '70s neo-classical folk from France, a host of current & classic darkwave/post-punk/industrial, and a featured set of music highlighting a festival that seems to be utterly doomed, in every sense of the word: Next Weekend's Rites of Darkness III Festival* in San Antonio, Texas.

*At press time, it appears that the venue for ROD III has been shut down (temporarily?), on top of on-going financial issues that have resulted in the cancellation of more than a dozen of the featured bands (including our own Loss). Nevertheless, a group of bands that were slated to play remains the focus of the final set of this episode, because they're great bands anyway.

: I've updated the way I post my playlists (below). They now include the name of the album each song is from, as well as its release year.

Ready to hear the show? Here's the link to download it:

[DOWNLOAD this episode (128k mp3)]

Format: Band Name - Song Title [Album Title, Year]

(each band name is also a website link)

"Out ov the Coffin" w/ Ichabod
Show date: Thursday, December 1st, 2011

Opening Theme:
Elliot Goldenthal - Libera Me [from "Interview with the Vampire" (soundtrack), 1994]

ROME - Sons of Aeeth  [Die Aesthetik der Herrschaftsfreiheit - Band 2: Aufruhr, 2011]
Ainm - The Promise  [Zero Spring, 2011]
ROME - In Cruel Fire  [Die Aesthetik der Herrschaftsfreiheit - Band 1: Aufbruch, 2011]
Malicorne - Quand je Menai Mes Chevaux Boire  [Almanach, 1976]
The Cure - Three Imaginary Boys  [Three Imaginary Boys, 1979]
The Search - Mermaid  [Bloodbathe, 2005]
Press Gang Metropol - Answers (free online single, 2011)
Hyena Motorcade - Heartbreaks  (demo, 2011)
Backyard Ghost - Hauptwerk  [The Snowman, 2008]
Pretentious, Moi? - Faith and Reason Part Company  [Pretentious, Moi?, 2010]
Seraphim Shock - Shadow Realm  [Red Silk Vow, 1997]
Nosferatu - Silver  [Wonderland, 2011]
The Bolshoi - Giants  [Giants EP, 1985]
Blacklist - Still Changes  [Midnight of the Century, 2009]
Litfiba - Eroi Nel Vento  [Desaparecido, 1985]
Hopeful Machines - Bringmedownintotheoldcoldground  [I Am Still In This Forest, 2006]
Brighter Fires - Sever  [Brighter Fires, 2011]
Diary of Dreams - krank:HAFT  [Nigredo, 2004]
Velvet Acid Christ - Crushed  [Lust for Blood, 2006]
Front Line Assembly - Angriff (Mindless Faith Mix)  [Angriff (single), 2010]
Hocico - Drowning  [Memorias Atras, 2008]
Skinny Puppy - Vyrisus  [hanDover, 2011]
Chris Bacon - One Death is Enough [from "Source Code" (soundtrack),2011]
Mournful Congregation - A Slow March to the Burial  [The June Frost, 2009]
Anhedonist - Ouranophobia  [The Drear, 2010]
Nathan Barr - The Funeral  [from "True Blood: Season One" (score), 2009]
Pallbearer - The Legend  [demo, 2010]
Worship - The Altar and the Choir of the Moonkult  [Dooom, 2007]
Catherine Christer Hennix - The Electric Harpsichord (exc.)  [The Electric Harpsichord, 1976]
Azaghal - Vihasta ja Veritöistä  [Nemesis, 2012]

[N] = Nashville artist

(exc.) = excerpt

^RQ^ = requested

No comments:

Post a Comment