Thursday, May 17, 2012

PODCAST: May 17th, 2012

[DOWNLOAD this episode (128k mp3)]

This episode is absolutely loaded with new (dark) entries that have been stacking up over the last month. There were so many new things to play, in fact, that some of them will have to wait until the next episode, on May 31st.

My favorite Horror Rock band, Calabrese, is set to release a brand new album this summer, and they've given us one taste so far, in the form of the track "Dead Don't Rise." As expected, it's extremely catchy, and I can't wait to hear the rest of the new material. The new CD, Dayglo Necros, will be out on July 1st, but you can pre-order it now (and get some free extras) right here.

Brooklyn nu-wave/darkwave band Night Vision also makes their debut on this episode, with a track from their equally catchy new self-titled EP. Their sound is soaked in classic '80s new wave, '90s goth, and just a dash of more modern electronic influence. You can grab their EP for free, right here, for a limited time only.

For those hungry for some new, traditional UK Goth Rock, look no further than Terminal Gods, whose upbeat approach is its own infection. Their new single is entitled "Electric Eyes," and you can listen to more from them right here.

Returning to the show this time is the Belgian band Kiss the Anus of a Black Cat, with another great song from their masterful foray into darkwave/goth, Weltuntergangsstimmung. Also coming back on board for this episode is Gary Numan, who recently gave away a remix from his latest album, Dead Son Rising. You can hear it on this episode, then grab it for free here.

Speaking of free downloads, there are several more featured on this episode, including Dead Can Dance's fifth installment in their free, live EP series, Live Happenings. Grab the new one here. In the dark ambient/neo-folk/dark metal vein, Heathen Harvest is offering their Walpurgisnacht 2012 compilation for free right here (from which you'll hear New Risen Throne and Svartsinn on this episode), and Crucial Blast is offering their Heresies 2012 compilation (from which you'll hear Luasa Raelon and Funerary Call on this show) as a free download right here. Go get some new sounds!

The industrial segment of the show features a new Velvet Acid Christ track. While not taken from the forthcoming album ("Maldire," coming in September), this new song is a cover of The Legendary Pink Dots' "Even Now," which certainly pleases my ears. It's available on the new Dependence 2012 compilation (more info here), and there's a video for it here. Also, for the terror-ebm-lovers, Metropolis has just released The Suicide Sessions 1, which re-issues and expands Suicide Commando's first full-length album, 1994's Critical Stage.

In the dark metal portion of this episode, you'll get a taste of the new Moonspell album, Alpha Noir (also out in a double-disc version, Alpha Noir/Omega White), a song from the new Les Discrets album, Ariettes Oubliées…, and a debut from the Ukrainian band Raventale, who evoke a late '90s atmospheric, dark/black metal sound.

In case all of the above isn't enough, this show also features enough current and classic dark music, news, and trivia to finish at just over two and a half hours.

Ready to hear the show? Here's the link to download it:

[DOWNLOAD this episode (128k mp3)]


Format: Band Name - Song Title [Album Title, Year]
(each band name is also a website link)

"Out ov the Coffin" w/ Ichabod
Show date: Thursday, May 17th, 2012

Opening Theme:
Elliot Goldenthal - Libera Me [from "Interview with the Vampire" (soundtrack), 1994]

Brighter Fires - Wasteland  [Brighter Fires, 2011]
Luasa Raelon - Messenger  ["Heresies 2012"]
Dead Can Dance - Salem's Lot  [Live Happenings, Part V, 2012]
Entertainment - Distance [SOMA: A Disaro Mixed Tape, 2011]
Ulterior - Catherine  [Wild In Wildlife, 2011]
Bloody Dead and Sexy - Liquid Grey  [Liquid Grey, 2011]
Red Lorry Yellow Lorry - This Today  [Talk About the Weather, 1985]
Kiss the Anus of a Black Cat - The Shadows Are You  [Weltuntergangsstimmung, 2012]
New Risen Throne - Lands Filled with Silence and Grief  ["Heathen Harvest: Walpurgisnacht 2012"]
Calabrese - Dead Don't Rise  [Dayglo Necros, 2012]
Terminal Gods - Electric Eyes  [Electric Eyes, 2012]
Cold Dance - Petrified  [Medusa, 1985]
Blacklist - Poison For Tomorrow  [Midnight of the Century, 2009]
UK Decay - Dorian (edit)  [For Madmen Only, 1981]
The New Creatures - Clownhead  ["The Black Bible",1998]
The Legendary Pink Dots - When I'm With You  [A Perfect Mystery, 2000]
Svartsinn - And Time Will Erase  ["Heathen Harvest: Walpurgisnacht 2012"]
Velvet Acid Christ - Even Now  ["Dependence 2012"]
Night Vision - Welcome Home  [Night Vision, 2012]
Gary Numan - Dead Sun Rising  [(online release), 2012]
Cryogen Second [N] - Anthem for the Great Self Destruct  [Anthem for the Great Self Destruct, 2011]
God Module - Remember  [Seance, 2011]
Suicide Commando - Sheer Horror (1994) [The Suicide Sessions 1, 2012]
Funerary Call - Transference from the Void  ["Heresies 2012"]
Les Discrets - Ariettes Oubliées I: Je Devine À Travers Un Murmure...  [Ariettes Oubliées…, 2012]
The Atlas Moth - Horse Thieves  [An Ache for the Distance, 2011]
Moonspell - Em Nome Do Medo  [Alpha Noir/Omega White, 2012]
Cradle of Filth - Malice Through the Looking Glass  [Dusk and Her Embrace, 1996]
Raventale - Twilight, The Vernal Dusk  [Bringer of Heartsore, 2011]
Elliot Goldenthal - Procession/Coronation [Titus (soundtrack), 2000]
Burial Hex - A Kiss to Birth the Rotted Sun  [Cult Collection, 2010]

[N] = Nashville artist
(exc.) = excerpt

^RQ^ = requested

No comments:

Post a Comment