Friday, June 1, 2012

PODCAST: May 31st, 2012

[DOWNLOAD this episode (128k mp3)]

*** The original version of this episode was taken down after a claim from B*rzum's representatives was filed. While that gets sorted out, I've uploaded an edited version of the show with that song removed. All references to that song have been edited out as well, to avoid confusion.

Welcome to another episode that is simply loaded with new music.

The UK's AlterRed makes their debut on this episode with a selection from their Dollstown album. Their sound is a blend of electro and cabaret, which has drawn comparisons to such acts as IAMX; hence, I paired the two acts in the first set.

Out of Scotland comes The Twilight Sad, whose video for the song "Another Bed" caught my eyes this week. The song, which is included on this show, is taken from their latest album, No One Can Ever Know.

On the heels of the last show's debut of the UK's Terminal Gods, the band has decided to make a free, online release of their previous EP of traditional goth rock, Genesis, from which you'll hear a song on this episode. Get that EP for yourself, right here.

Also not to be missed: Another extremely catchy song from Brooklyn's Night Vision, whose brand of new darkwave continues to stick in my head. You can still grab their EP for free, right here, while it lasts.

Darker Days Tomorrow makes its debut on this episode as well, premiering a song from their 3rd, and latest, album False Prophets. The band currently has a Kickstarter campaign underway to fund the production of a music video, so if you'd like to join the cause, go here.

On the instrumental side of the fence, Italy's Chemical Waves provides a new track from their Sweet Candy Bullets EP (free right here), as does the Czech Republic's Tongue, with a track from their At the Beginning... album (free right here). You'll also hear new dark ambient selections from Sweden's Necrophorus and Poland's Atum, whose latest EP can be downloaded here.

During the industrial portion of the show, you'll hear a track from T.A.L.O.S., the latest from the Greek band PreEmptive Strike 0.1, along with a pair of excerpts from Alan Silvestri's score for the new Avengers film, which are wrapped around the new single from Dutch aggro-tech/ebm band Grendel, taken from their latest album Timewave: Zero. Incidentally, the video for that title track can be viewed here.

Towards the end, in the dark metal portion of the show, you'll hear a further cut from Anhedonist's new Netherwards album. Closing the show is a 30-minute epic taken from the latest Aldebaran CD, Embracing The Lightless Depths, available now from Profound Lore Records.

All of that, plus classic, current, and cult deathrock, goth, wave, metal, and more!

Ready to hear the show? Here's the link to download it:

[DOWNLOAD this episode (128k mp3)]



Format: Band Name - Song Title [Album Title, Year]
(each band name is also a website link)

"Out ov the Coffin" w/ Ichabod
Show date: Thursday, May 17th, 2012

Opening Theme:
Elliot Goldenthal - Libera Me [from "Interview with the Vampire" (soundtrack), 1994]

Gitane Demone - Tales of Innocence  ["Goth: Music of the Shadows v1" (comp.)1999]
Chemical Waves - Wraith  [Sweet Candy Bullets, 2012]
Zola Jesus - Stridulum  [Stridulum, 2010]
The Twilight Sad - Another Bed  [No One Can Ever Know, 2012]
Two Witches - Requiem  [Bites, 1995]
AlterRed - Dollstown  [Dollstown, 2012]
IAMX - Music People  [Volatile Times, 2011]
Night Vision - Betrayal  [Night Vision, 2012]
Necrophorus - Sentiment II  ["Heathen Harvest Walpurgisnacht Sampler 2012" (comp.)]
Terminal Gods - Shine  [Genesis, 2011]
Complicity - 23 Years  [Playing God, 1997]
Siiiii - Rictus  [Ancient, 2006]
Alien Sex Fiend - She's a Killer  [Acid Bath, 1984]
Switchblade Symphony - Bad Trash  [Serpentine Gallery, 1995]
Descendants of Cain - Alive  [The Book of Changes, 2004]
Tongue - Speechless  [At the Beginning..., 2012]
Inure - All Alone  [The Offering, 2012]
The Frozen Autumn - Before the Storm   [Chirality, 2012]
Darker Days Tomorrow - Idol  [False Prophets, 2012]
PreEmptive Strike 0.1 - Bedingungslose Kapitulation  [T.A.L.O.S., 2012]
Alan Silvestri - A Little Help (exc.) ["The Avengers" (soundtrack), 2012]
Grendel - Timewave: Zero  [Timewave: Zero, 2012]
Alan Silvestri - Doors Open from Both Sides (exc.) ["The Avengers" (soundtrack), 2012]
Nightbringer - Serpent of the Midnight Sun  [Apocalypse Sun, 2010]
Anhedonist - Estrangement  [Netherwards, 2012]
Mirror of Deception - Ship of Fools  [Foregone, 2005]
Atum - Der Wille I  ["Saur Maas: Auditory Dark Matter" (comp.) 2011]
Aldebaran - Sentinel of a Sunless Abyss  [Embracing The Lightless Depths, 2012]

[N] = Nashville artist
(exc.) = excerpt

^RQ^ = requested

No comments:

Post a Comment