Friday, June 15, 2012

PODCAST: June 14th, 2012

[STREAM this episode (on Mixcloud)]
[DOWNLOAD this episode (128k mp3)]

This episode is the first to be available as both a download and a stream. I have just created a Mixcloud account to make that possible, so if you'd like to simply stream this one, follow the link above, or scroll down to the bottom of this post and hit play. The stream has been time-stamped to help you tell what you're hearing at any given time.


New to the show this time is a crop of more traditional goth and post-punk sounds. From the the UK, we have Angels of Liberty, who have several releases available on their Bandcamp site. I chose to start at the beginning, showcasing the title track from their Monster In Me EP (2011). It's an amazingly catchy and satisfying piece of energetic goth rock.

Also hailing from the UK, The Gaa Gaas make their debut on the show this time, flaunting their psyche-punk sound that evokes an early deathrock/batcave attitude. The song, "Hypnoti(z)ed" is taken from a new compilation from Peter Out Records, called The Peter Out Wave, which is intended to bring together acts from various scenes and countries that are (perhaps unintentionally) part of the new wave of post-punk. Grab it here.

Also featured on that compilation is France's Joy/Disaster, who have just released a new alt-post-punk album called Sickness. Their song "Suicide" is featured on both releases, as well as this episode. In the neo-classical realm, Portland, Oregon's Disemballerina have returned with another impressive new piece called "Sundowning," which is available on their Bandcamp site as well.

In the industrial realm, you'll hear a selection from the new Decoded Feedback album, disKonnekt; a remix from the latest Aesthetic Perfection single, A Nice Place to Destroy; an atypical cut from the new Grendel album, Timewave: Zero; and requested (and classic) music from the new Skinny Puppy live album, Bootlegged, Broke and Insolvent Seas. All of these releases are available now through Metropolis Records.

I also remember a couple of very different anniversaries on this episode: June 14th marks the 33rd anniversary of the release of Joy Division's classic debut "Unknown Pleasures," which originally fell into the hands of the already-in-the-know way back in 1979. And, on June 14th, 1956, the world saw the birth of Kim Petersen, who would later come to be known to the world as King Diamond.

Beyond that, this show is loaded with: Minimal neo-folk submissions, recently revisited film scores, current and classic goth-rock anthems, '90s-style doom, and '70s style atmosphere, in both musical and cinematic forms.

** AND... speaking of '70s style atmosphere, I will be DJing at Logue's Black Raven Emporium in East Nashville on Saturday June 23rd, alongside a screening of the classic 1973 film, Lemora: A Child's Tale of the Supernatural. It will be a lot like the first hour of "Out ov the Coffin," only in a live setting, with a bar. The Facebook event page is here, for more information.

Ready to hear the show? Here's the link to download it:

[STREAM this episode (on Mixcloud)]
[DOWNLOAD this episode (128k mp3)]



Format: Band Name - Song Title [Album Title, Year]
(each band name is also a website link)

"Out ov the Coffin" w/ Ichabod
Show date: Thursday, June14th, 2012

Opening Theme:
Elliot Goldenthal - Libera Me [from "Interview with the Vampire" (soundtrack), 1994]

Kiss the Anus of a Black Cat - Ruins  [Weltuntergangsstimmung, 2012]
Craig Armstrong - Hymn  ["Plunkett & MacLeane" (soundtrack), 1999]
Current 93 - A Silence Song  [Thunder Perfect Mind, 1992]
ROME - Les Deracines  [Nos Chants Perdus, 2010]
The Cr├╝xshadows - Ariadne (Legendary Mix)  [Immortal, 2008]
Clan of Xymox - Crucified  [Creatures, 1999]
Peter Murphy - I Spit Roses  [Ninth, 2011]
Joy Division - Shadowplay  [Unknown Pleasures, 1979]
Disemballerina - Sundowning (exc.)  [Sundowning, 2012]
Angels of Liberty - Monster In Me  [Monster In Me, 2011]
Solemn Novena - Silver  [Kiss the Girls, 2010]
Fields of the Nephilim - Laura  ["The Black Bible" (comp.) 1998]
New Model Army - The Hunt  [The Ghost of Cain, 1986]
Joy/Disaster - Suicide  [Sickness, 2012]
The Gaa Gaa's - Hypnoti(z)ed (Alt. version)  ["The Peter Out Wave vol. 1" (comp.) 2012]
Dan Neufeld - (untitled) ["Lemora: A Child's Tale of the Supernatural" (soundtrack), 1973]
The Ghost of Lemora - Dread the Day (The Cities Rise)  [The Silhouette Scene E. P., 2002]
Michl Britsch - Bower's Trip  ["Pandorum" (soundtrack) 2009]
Decoded Feedback - Heart of Stone  [disKonnekt, 2012]
Aesthetic Perfection - All Beauty Destroyed (Sensuous Enemy Remix)  [A Nice Place to Destroy, 2012]
Grendel - Fall  [Timewave: Zero, 2012]
Imperative Reaction - Surface  [Imperative Reaction, 2011]
Skinny Puppy - Morpheus Laughing (Warsaw)  [Bootlegged, Broke and Insolvent Seas, 2012]  ^RQ^
Sumornost - I Give You Unto Earth and Time  ["Saur Maas" (comp.) 2011]
Anathema - Far Away  [Eternity, 1997]
Lacrimas Profundere - Solicitude, Silence  [Burning: A Wish, 2001]
Electric Wizard - Witchcult Today  [Witchcult Today, 2007]
King Diamond - Funeral/Arrival  [Abigail, 1987]
Thomas Newman - Drinking Blood/Falling Home  ["The Lost Boys" (soundtrack) 1987]
Black Sabbath - Over and Over  [Mob Rules, 1981]

[N] = Nashville artist
(exc.) = excerpt

^RQ^ = requested

NEW! You can now stream this episode here:

No comments:

Post a Comment