Friday, November 22, 2013

PODCAST: November 22nd, 2013

[STREAM this episode right now on Mixcloud]
(or use the embedded player at the bottom of this post)

This episode begins with a taste of the new Zola Jesus album, Versions, which is a collaboration with J.G. Thirlwell (Foetus, music for "The Venture Bros."), who arranged ten of vocalist/writer Nika Roza Danilova's songs for string quartet, with interesting results. A DVD of their performance at the Guggenheim in New York City was also pressed, and is available in limited quantities as a giveaway/bonus from select retailers with the purchases of the album.

Finally making its way on the show this time is the new Lycia album, Quiet Moments. Billed as a return-to-form for the long-dormant nearly-ambient goth/darkwave project, longtime fans have not been disappointed with the results, which grow from slow, moody pieces, to more animated electronic fare as the album builds.

Making their debut on this episode is Germany's LowCityRain, whose modern mixture of post-punk, new wave, and shoegaze has garnered a good deal of praise over the last few months, in advance of their self-titled new album's release. Speaking of high praise, we'll go a track deeper into the new Beastmilk album, Climax, which continues to appear on many a writer's forthcoming "Best of 2013" lists. You'll see it on my list as well.

Taking a turn for the electronic/industrial, you'll hear another new song from NOIR's new album, Darkly Near; however, if that's not hard enough for you, stay tuned for the 'Coffin-debut of Pharmakon, whose new EP Abandon is a sordid, uncomfortable wasteland of screams and noise that might pleasantly set your teeth on edge. Then, as we lean towards the metal portion of the show, you'll get your first taste of Order of the Shadow, Act 1, the latest industrial/metal infection from Psyclon Nine.

A rather non-traditional metal set begins with new music from the band Vaura. Something of a super-group, the band features members of Gorguts, Secret Chiefs 3, Kayo Dot, and Blacklist, the last of which being no strangers to this podcast. Their new Profound Lore album, The Missing, might best be described as "Agalloch gone post-punk." If that's not heavy enough for you, some new death-doom from Manifesting's Descension Through the Seven Forbidden Seals album should fill that void. You'll aslo hear another new cut from Cult of Fire, venturing further into their new album, मृत्यु का तापसी अनुध्यान.

All of that, PLUS: Further fresh music from Lux InternaSoror DolorosaGris, and Sewer Goddess; A spotlight on the current Ego Likeness US tour; some choice selections from the vault; and more.

Ready to hear the show? Stream it or keep it? Here's how:

Click the photo to save this podcast
for your portable device.

[STREAM this episode (on Mixcloud)]
(scroll down to stream it from this page)
<<< Or grab the file to the left <<<



Format: Band Name - Song Title [Album Title, Year]
(each band name is also a website link)

"Out ov the Coffin" w/ Ichabod
Show date: Friday, November 22nd, 2013

Opening Theme:
Elliot Goldenthal - Libera Me [from "Interview with the Vampire" (soundtrack), 1994]

Zola Jesus w/ J.G. Thirlwell - Night  [Versions, 2013]
Angelo Badalamenti - Night Life in Twin Peaks  ["Twin Peaks" (soundtrack) 1990]
Lycia - The Visitor  [Quiet Moments, 2013]
The Legendary Pink Dots - A Star Is Born  [The Gethsemane Option, 2013]
Lux Interna - Threefold  [There Is Light In the Body, There Is Blood In the Sun, 2013]
LowCityRain - Phantom  [LowCityRain, 2013]
The Mission - The Crystal Ocean (extended)  [The First Chapter, 1987]
Batzz in the Belfry - Come and Die  ["CYBER 10 Dark Nights 3" (comp.) 2013]
Nagual Art - Sternenlied  [Sternenlieder, 2011]
Beastmilk - You Are Now Under Our Control  [Climax, 2013]
Anasazi - Loving You  [Attic Noise, 2012]
Spectres - Amnesia  [Nothing to Nowhere, 2012]
Killing Joke - America  [Outside the Gate, 1988]
The Danse Society - Hide  [The Danse Society, 1984]
Soror Dolorosa - Silver Square  [No More Heroes, 2013]
Marco Beltrami - Crossing the Causeway/The Attic Room  ["The Woman in Black" (soundtrack) 2012]
NOIR - The Bells  [Darkly Near, 2013]
Necro Facility - Do You Feel the Same  [Wintermute, 2011]
Light Asylum - Hour Fortress  [Light Asylum, 2012]
Ego Likeness - Persona Non Grata  [East, 2012]
Pharmakon - Milkweed/It Hangs Heavy  [Abandon, 2013]
Psyclon Nine - Order of the Shadow (The Heretic Awakens) [Order of the Shadow: Act 1, 2013]
Anima Morte - The Dead Will Walk the Earth  [The Nightmare Becomes Reality, 2011]
This Empty Flow - Distress  [Magenta Skycode, 1996]
Vaura - The Missing  [The Missing, 2013]
Cult of Fire -  काली मां  [मृत्यु का तापसी अनुध्यान, 2013]
Manifesting - Disciples of Murmur  [Descension Through the Seven Forbidden Seals, 2013]
Sewer Goddess - Nature of the Black Liquid  ["Samhainwork II" (comp.)  2013]
Gris - Seizième prière  [À l'âme enflammée, l'äme constellée…, 2013]

[N] = Nashville artist
(exc.) = excerpt

^RQ^ = requested

Stream this episode right here:

No comments:

Post a Comment