Friday, January 17, 2014

PODCAST: January 17th, 2014

[STREAM this episode right now on Mixcloud]
(or use the embedded player at the bottom of this post)

The first regular episode of 2014 arrives with another armload of new releases to expose, and current albums in which to dig a bit deeper. In honor of her upcoming Nashville concert (1/28 @ The Exit/In), the show begins with a wet, shadowy piece taken from the latest Chelsea Wolfe album, Pain is Beauty.

Making their debut on the show, but not on the scene, is San Francisco's recently resurrected original deathrock project, Altar de Fey. "Crimson Sin" is one of two new singles the band issued in 2013, and I look forward to more. Meanwhile, in Portland, Shadowhouse is stirring the post-punk pot with their new 7-inch, Haunted, from which we'll hear the b-side.

One of the more underrated acts, State-side at least, in dark rock/folk/post-punk has to be New Model Army -- a band with integrity and talent to spare, that somehow continues to fly under the radar of so many. You'll get a taste of their new album, Between Dog and Wolf, and if you like that, I encourage you to work backwards through their catalogue.

Several cool digital singles came out in the past two weeks, including the return of Ohio's The Wake, who were one of the finest and most overlooked US gothic rock bands of the '90s. Their new single, "Rusted," is available here or here as both an original version and a remix. Also issuing a new digital single is Mexican deathrock band Acid Bats, whose Srita. Destrucción can be picked up for free right here.

Not to be outdone, darkwave/goth veterans Clan of Xymox have released the first single from their forthcoming album, Matters of the Mind, Body and Soul. You'll hear their curiously titled "Love's On Diet" on this episode, immediately following another dose of the fully-addictive new Night Sins album, To London or the Lake. Even before that, fellow Philadelphians Theurgist will have dazzled you with your second taste of their new DeathBed EP, which you can get here.

In the dark metal portion of the show, we'll sink one cut deeper into Aokigahara Jukai, the latest from Australia's Thrall, after partaking in a wave of the new Hopeful Machines album. HM, as you may know, is the more experimental electronic arm of Steven Archer from Ego Likeness. You can grab the last remaining copies of the limited edition of The Spring of the Drowned Girl right here.

All of that, PLUS: More '80s horror-soaked synth-work from the new Allesandro Parisi album, La Porta Ermetica; Birthday nods to both John Carpenter and David Bowie; Touring news; Classics from the vault; and more.

Ready to hear the show? Stream it or keep it? Here's how:

Click the photo to save this podcast
for your portable device.

[STREAM this episode (on Mixcloud)]
(scroll down to stream it from this page)
<<< Or grab the file to the left <<<



Format: Band Name - Song Title [Album Title, Year]
(each band name is also a website link)

"Out ov the Coffin" w/ Ichabod
Show date: Friday, January 17th, 2014

Opening Theme:
Elliot Goldenthal - Libera Me [from "Interview with the Vampire" (soundtrack), 1994]

Chelsea Wolfe - Sick  [Pain Is Beauty, 2013]
John Carpenter - The Fog  ["The Fog" (soundtrack) 1980]
Altar de Fey - Crimson Sin  [digital single, 2013]
Cocteau Twins - When Mama Was Moth  [Head Over Heels, 1983]
David Bowie - Saviour Machine  [The Man Who Sold the World, 1970]
Modern English - Just a Thought  [Mesh & Lace, 1981]
New Model Army - I Need More Time  [Between Dog and Wolf, 2013]
Giorgio Moroder - Ruined Landscape/Swamps of Sadness  ["The NeverEnding Story" (soundtrack) 1984]
Shadowhouse - Lonely Psalm  [Haunted, 2013]
The Wake - Rusted  [digital single, 2014]
Acid Bats - Srita. Destrucción  [Srita. Destrucción, 2013]
Deathcharge - untitled (#5)  [Love Was Born To An Early Death, 2012]
Theurgist - Love Lies Bleeding (demo)  [DeathBed, 2013]
Alessandro Parisi Hesperius Draco  [La Porta Ermetica, 2013]
Night Sins - Dear Marquis  [To London or the Lake, 2013]
Clan of Xymox - Love's On Diet  [Matters of the Mind, Body and Soul, 2014]
The Japanese Popstars feat. Robert Smith - Take Forever  [Take Forever, 2011]
Switchblade Symphony - Wallflower  [Serpentine Gallery, 1995]
Corpus Delicti - The Awakening  [Sylphes, 1994]
Hopeful Machines - The Spring of the Drowned Girl  [The Spring of the Drowned Girl, 2013]
Deafheaven - Vertigo  [Sunbather, 2013]
Laudanum - Invoke  [The Coronation, 2009]
Pallbearer - The Legend  [demo, 2010]
Thrall - Longing for Death  [Aokigahara Jukai, 2013]
Acanthus - Sleeping Beauty (Angoisse Temporelle)  ["Kiss of the Damned" (soundtrack) 2013]
My Dying Bride - The Sexuality of Bereavement  [Trinity, 1995]

(exc.) = excerpt
^RQ^ = requested

Stream this episode right here:

No comments:

Post a Comment